Vince Staples – Big Fish Theory

I really really enjoyed Summertime ’06, but I’m glad Vince changed his musical focus on this record. The production is just MINDBLOWING. Every producer Vince brings along here does his thing and they all shine in their own way. Also, you can clearly see that this is a record driven by its concept and not necessarily by the music, which is weird, but still cool. The only problem that arises from this is that Vince’s rapping may fall in the background during listening, and I can see why that may be a problem for some people, but I still can appreciate what he’s trying to do here. What I also appreciate is his ability to create such a strong hiphop album that lasts only 35 minutes (hiphop albums tend to be pretty long); this way, Vince really gets his point across and I can say, I really appreciate what he’s going for here. One of the strongest hiphop albums this year thus far. 8/10.

Leave a Reply

