Lorde – Melodrama

When I discovered Lorde (about a week ago hehe), I fell immediately in love with her concept and songwriting and pretty much everything in Pure Heroine. Now here, I feel that because this is a more complex album, it’s gonna take time for me to digest this. I don’t know how I feel about the change of focus from the complex background vocal layering in PH to the perhaps more conventional pop instrumentals we can find on this album. I wouldn’t say it’s a negative change, but it’s definitely a change. We find a change also in her lyrics, and in the concept of the album, which is punctuated by the structure. All in all I will say that I REALLY liked the record, but that I wanna dive deeper into it, because I know this can grow to be as good or even better than PH to me. For now, I can say that I’m really impressed and that I still think that Lorde is the last great pop star. Also, why the fuck does she have the hardest trap beat of the year in Sober II? It fucking slaps. 8/10.

Leave a Reply

