Father John Misty – Pure Comedy

Let me begin by saying I never was a big FJM fan, when I Love You Honeybear came out I didn’t like it, yet it grew on me after some months. Now with this record, Papa John makes two big things: first, the biggest commentary through music I’ve ever heard on the human condition. Second, the comfirmation he needed to proof that he is one of the lead indie acts right now. I have to dive deeper into the lyrics, but I’m very impressed. The instrumentals, as always, sound very baroque and complex, even more in this album than in the last one. All in all, good job. Sooooo… fuck The xx, this the AOTY for the moment. 9/10.

Leave a Reply

